Wave Physics for Medicine - Inserm U979

Description of the team

Our team Inserm U979 "Wave Physics for Medicine" has been created in 2008 within the Langevin Institute (Inserm/CNRS/ESPCI) and is led by Mickaël Tanter (director) and Mathieu Pernot (deputy director). The team consists of physicists experts in biomedical applications of wave physics from the cellular level to organs scale.
We are currently developing new techniques for medical imaging and extracorporeal therapies based on ultrasonic, optical or electromagnetic waves. For that purpose, we have created several innovative platforms in ultrasound and optics for in vitro and in vivo validation of our approaches. Our group has pioneered many concepts in biomedical imaging, such as transient elastography, Shear Wave Elastography, ultrafast echography, and more recently fUltrasound (functional ultrasound imaging for neurosciences). Besides, we are strongly promoting "multi-wave imaging", which leverages interactions between different types of waves in tissues.


Members

Director of the unit

Mickaël TANTER
Tél. : 01 80 96 30 62
mickael.tanter (arobase) espci.fr

Deputy director

Mathieu PERNOT
Tél. : 01 80 96 30 64
Mathieu.Pernot (arobase) espci.fr

Administrative head

Khadija BERTINO
Tél. : 01 80 96 30 55
khadija.bertino (arobase) espci.fr

> See all members


News

Jack Sauvage wins the Best Student Paper Award at the 2018 IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium

Jack Sauvage has won the Best Student Award of the IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium which took place in Kobe (Japan) in October 20th-25th 2018. His works, entitled "Ultrafast 4D Doppler Imaging of the rat brain with a large aperture Row Column addressed probe", aim at developing an efficient solution for 4D ultrafast ultrasound imaging, using specific ultrasound probes which allow to acquire a full imaging volume with a limited number of transducers. The results have just been published in Physics in Medicine & Biology and are available here.
Uniquely in the history of this international congress - the largest in the field of ultrasound research, the best student award has been won by a student of the team Wave Physics for Medicine for six years in a row.

Biomedical ultrasound strive forward thanks to the Foundation Bettencourt-Schueller

Diagnosing heart diseases with a miniature smart sensor, treating pediatric cardiac malformation without open surgery using focused ultrasound waves, observe the entire human vascular network down to the smallest vessels using a non-invasive imager : these surrealistic projects will become true with the help of the Bettencourt-Schueller Foundation. The foundation has decided to grant the unit « Physics for Medicine » an extraordinary support for 4 years to conduct an innovative research in ultrasound-based imaging and therapy for cardiovascular diseases.

> Read more...


Victor Finel receives an award in cardiovascular imaging at EMIM (European Molecular Imaging Meeting)

Victor Finel, who is currently doing his PhD in the team Wave Physics for Medicine, has received the Best Poster Award in the category "cardiovascular imaging" at EMIM 2018 (European Molecular Imaging Meeting) in San Sebastian, Spain.
His work is entitlted "3D mapping of cardiac contraction on isolated rat heart using ultrasound ultrafast imaging". Results demonstrate the feasibility of recording in 3D the electro-mechanical activation of the myocardium during a single heart beat.
The study has been conducted and presented with the support of the European Research Council and France Life Imaging.

> See all the news of Inserm U979...

Top

Physique des Ondes pour la Médecine - Inserm U979

Présentation de l’équipe

L’équipe Inserm U979 « Physique des Ondes pour la Médecine » est une unité Inserm/CNRS/ESPCI créée en Janvier 2008 au sein de l’Institut Langevin et dirigée par Mickaël Tanter (directeur adjoint Mathieu Pernot). Elle regroupe des physiciens spécialisés dans le domaine de la physique des ondes (optiques et ultrasonores) pour l’imagerie biomédicale allant des échelles cellulaires à l’échelle des organes.
Nous développons de nouvelles techniques pour l’imagerie médicale et la thérapie extracorporelle basées sur l’utilisation d’ondes ultrasonores, optiques ou électromagnétiques. Pour cela, nous avons été amenés à réaliser plusieurs plateformes ultrasonores et optiques très originales qui permettent de valider in vitro puis in vivo ces nouvelles approches. L’unité a été pionnière de nombreux concepts d’imagerie biomédicale tels que l’élastographie transitoire, la Shear Wave Elastography, l’échographie ultrarapide, et récemment le fUltrasound, imagerie fonctionnelle cérébrale par ultrasons. Enfin, nous nous tournons résolument vers des approches particulièrement innovantes d’ "imagerie multi-ondes" exploitant les interactions entre ondes de différentes nature au sein des tissus.


Membres

Directeur

Mickaël TANTER
Tél. : 01 80 96 30 62
mickael.tanter (arobase) espci.fr

Directeur adjoint

Mathieu PERNOT
Tél. : 01 80 96 30 64
Mathieu.Pernot (arobase) espci.fr

Responsable administrative

Khadija BERTINO
Tél. : 01 80 96 30 55
khadija.bertino (arobase) espci.fr

> Voir tous les membres


Actualités

Jack Sauvage remporte le Prix Etudiant 2018 du IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium

Jack Sauvage a remporté le Best Student Paper Award au congrès IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium qui se déroulait à Kobé (Japon) du 20 au 25 octobre 2018. Ses travaux, intitulés "Ultrafast 4D Doppler Imaging of the rat brain with a large aperture Row Column addressed probe", visent à développer une solution efficace pour l’échographie ultrarapide 4D à partir de sondes ultrasonores particulières, permettant des acquisitions volumétriques avec un faible nombre de transducteurs. Les résultats viennent d’être publiés dans la revue Physics in Medicine & Biology et sont accessibles ici.
Fait unique dans l’histoire de ce congrès international - le plus grand pour la recherche en ultrasons, c’est la sixième année consécutive que le prix étudiant est remporté par un doctorant de l’équipe Physique des Ondes pour la Médecine.

Un bond en avant pour les ultrasons biomédicaux grâce à la Fondation Bettencourt Schueller

Diagnostiquer les maladies cardiaques avec un capteur miniature intelligent, soigner les malformations cardiaques chez l’enfant sans opération en utilisant des ondes focalisées, voir le réseau vasculaire humain complet jusqu’à ses plus infimes vaisseaux avec à un imageur non invasif : ces projets aux airs de science-fiction vont se concrétiser à l’aide de la Fondation Bettencourt-Schueller. La fondation a en effet décidé d’octroyer à l’unité « Physique pour la Médecine » un soutien exceptionnel pour 4 ans pour mener à bien sa recherche innovante en imagerie et thérapie ultrasonores des maladies cardio-vasculaires.
> Lire la suite...

Victor Finel reçoit un prix en imagerie cardiovasculaire à l’EMIM (European Molecular Imaging Meeting)

Victor Finel, doctorant au sein de l’équipe Physique des Ondes pour la Médecine, a reçu le prix du meilleur poster dans la catégorie "imagerie cardiovasculaire" à la conférence EMIM 2018 (European Molecular Imaging Meeting) à San Sebastian, Espagne.
Ses travaux s’intitulent "Cartographie 3D de la contraction cardiaque sur un coeur de rat isolé par imagerie ultrasonore ultrarapide". Les résultats démontrent la faisabilité de suivre en 3D l’activation électro-mécanique du myocarde au cours d’un cycle cardiaque.
Les travaux ont été réalisés et présentés avec le soutien de l’European Research Council et de France Life Imaging.

> Voir toutes les actualités de l’Inserm U979...

Haut de page